Catch It Live: Carrera Cup Heads to Bathurst

October 3, 2012 in Video

The 50th anniversary running of the Bathurst 1000 kicks off on Mount Panorama tomorrow, the 4th of October, and Carrera Cup will be there to demonstrate that slinging a 3.8-litre six-cylinder boxer over the back wheels of a nimble sportscar is the most exciting way to tackle The Mountain.

We’ll be there with Shane Smollen, who has an exceptional track record around the Mount Panorama track, and look forward to another great weekend at one of Australia’s iconic motorsport events.

In a treat for Porsche enthusiasts, two-time Porsche Supercup Champion Jeroen Bleekemolen will be taking the 2006 American Le Mans Series LMP2-winning Porsche RS Spyder around The Mountain for a few demonstration laps, in between stints driving the TYREPLUS Porsche Guest Car in Carrera Cup.

You’ll be able to catch races one and three live on channel Seven at the following times:

Porsche City Index Carrera Cup Australia – Race 1 (live)
Date: Saturday October 06, 2012
Time: 12:10pm (AEST), 11:40am (ACST), 10:10am (AWST)
Channel: Seven

Porsche City Index Carrera Cup Australia – Race 3 (live)
Date: Sunday October 07, 2012
Time: 08:30am (AEST), 08:00am (ACST), 06:30am (AWST)
Channel: Seven

And the full race schedule is as follows:

Thursday October 04, 2012
10:05am Practice 1, 20 minutes

Friday October 05, 2012
7:10pm Practice 2, 20 minutes

Saturday October 06, 2012
8:45am Qualifying, 20 minutes
12:15pm Race 1, 9 laps (time certain)
5:30pm Race 2, 9 laps

Sunday October 07, 2012
8:35am Race 3, 9 laps (time certain)

Photo via Porsche